Instant Stir-Fry


We had one of those nights when there was little time to cook, and we needed to throw something together quickly. My wife and I were heading to our niece’s preschool graduation. I don’t remember having one of these when we were kids; is this a new fad or are these something that have been happening for awhile? I don’t have anything against these, mind you; I just don’t see the point. Of course the kids looked cute and responded with funny comments when asked what they wanted to be when they grow up. The answers ranged from, “a mommy” to one child saying, “a paleontologist.” I had to look up how to spell that, and a preschool graduate was using it in a sentence. Toward the end of the ceremony, which lasted and hour and half, the kids were stir crazy and practically needed to be duct taped to the seats they were so antsy to run around. I guess all in all this was for the parents’ benefit and not so much for the kids. I am still lost as to the point of the whole thing. . .

On with making the quick, eat-’n-run-out-the-door dinner. Before I got married, Ramen noodles were a staple dietary item in my cabinets. Loving to cook even back then, they were inexpensive and very versatile. I couldn’t just eat plain Ramen all the time; I had to add a little of this and a little of that. I found one cool secret that I still use to this day: Ramen noodles make the most fabulous stir-fry noodles ever. Break out a pan (in my case, a wok), and throw in some stir-fry meat, add a package of frozen vegetables, ramen noodles with the seasoning packet, and Wallah! Instant stir-fry!

Almost Instant Stir-Fry

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

1 Pound Stir-Fry Meat (thinly sliced steak, ground beef, or thinly sliced chicken breast)

1 Package Shrimp-Flavor Ramen Noodles

1 Bag Frozen Mixed Vegetables (I use a red potato and sugar snap pea mixture)

Directions

  1. In wok or sauce pan, add 1 tablespoon olive oil and turn to medium high heat.
  2. Add meat and stir-fry until meat is almost cooked through (about 5 minutes).
  3. Add vegetables, Ramen noodles, and spice pack to meat and stir-fry for approximately 5 minutes.
  4. Serve in a bowl with chopsticks and enjoy.

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Pasta, Quick Dinners

4 responses to “Instant Stir-Fry

  1. Love the simplicity! Sometimes it’s so gratifying to have a wonderful meal made in such little time!

  2. You’re totally right about ramen! Looks like a great meal. =)

  3. I have one of those days too and what a fabulous way to make a wholesome ramen noodles! :D

    Thanks for linking my page to your facebook.

Leave a Reply

