The cure for the I-do-not-feel-like-cooking mood


When I was younger and fresh out of the Marines Corps, I could live on the simple, staple foods, like hot dogs, burgers, and grocery store pizza. It was nothing for me to hit the local Aldi’s grocery store, spend $20, and have enough groceries to last me a week or two. . . and that included coming home with one heck of a variety!

Now that I’m a little older and married, my palate and taste have matured, and I have learned to enjoy the more sophisticated foods and finer tastes in life. Thus, last night’s dinner. I had managed to work myself into one of those I-do-not-feel-like-cooking moods, after a really bad finish to the workday. Luckily, we have the coolest place very close to the house that saves me from time to time.

Since I’m not as young as I once was and yet not quite old enough to be considered old (however old that is), I am not a fan of the frozen pizza. I know there are several companies vying for the title of the best frozen pizza, but, as far as I’m concerned, they can all keep them. I’m also not a terribly big fan of delivery pizza either. If it’s there, I’ll probably eat it; however, it’s not my first choice. I will only go to a pizza buffet if I happen to have my nieces and nephews with me, and that’s more about just spending time with them than savoring the food.

However, like I said, I have a wonderful establishment close to the house that truly is a dinner salvation. What is it, you ask? . . .  Papa Murphy’s Pizza! Let me tell ya, this franchise takes pizza to a whole new level. I am generally not a fan of franchises; I prefer the mom and pop places. Now I realize there are some good pizza joints, and, if you want to sit out, drink a beer, and enjoy a pizza, by all means indulge; however, if you want to amaze your family, friends, or neighbors with a superior pizza, let me tell you that Papa Murphy’s Pizza! will impress.

When you walk into a Papa Murphy’s Pizza! store, the entire staff welcomes you like they mean it. It’s not like other places where the staff greets you with an insincere, rehearsed, droned out “hellooo!” The Papa Murphy’s Pizza! staff is really, genuinely glad to see you. They are also very helpful, because your first visit could be a little overwhelming with so many choices, but, it’s okay, I got you covered! After your initial welcome, you will begin to enjoy the typical smells of a pizza place, only this one is in a bright, clean atmosphere. Along a long counter you will see a plethora of fresh ingredients typical of any pizza place. Walking to the order counter, the cashier and staff will take you through the process of how everything works. Up above the counter of is a list of specialty pizzas they offer, everything from an overfilled pepperoni to a gourmet chicken garlic pizza. A word to the wise. . .  their pizzas are HUGE! My wife and I get a large pizza and always have enough to last a couple days after if we choose. After selecting your style of pizza, you can watch as they hand-make your custom-ordered pizza. With friendly staff you can laugh and talk with, you even find out some of their secret menu items on even on the menu. I won’t tell you what they are; that you will have to find out for yourself. Once all the toppings are on your pizza, they will plastic wrap it up and include clear, easy instructions on how to bake it at home. That’s right! YOU cook it! Papa Murphy’s is a take-’n-bake pizza joint. That, to me, is what makes it brilliant. They make it, and you bake it FRESH and enjoy it piping hot, fresh out of the oven at home.

So yesterday, after my bad finish to the day, I got a laugh, a smile, and a great pizza. This trip, we tried the Herb Chicken Mediterranean deLITE® with Olive Oil, Garlic, Mozzarella Cheese, Spinach, Grilled Chicken, Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta Cheese and Zesty Herbs on cracker-thin crust. It was amazing and made dinner for less than $11 dollars (not to mention all those leftovers for lunches or snacks!).

The pizzas at Papa Murphy’s Pizza! are fantastic quality, inexpensive, and you can have a gourmet pizza on the table in less than 20 minutes with fresh, healthy ingredients. Now that’s a recipe for success! Check out their website for details at www.papmurphys.com

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Quick Dinners

3 responses to “The cure for the I-do-not-feel-like-cooking mood

  1. What an awesome cure!!! Boy oh boy, that I-Do-Not-Feel-Like-Cooking bug doesn’t bite often, boy, but when he does…

    …This is an excellent remedy :-)

  2. Christine Rosenthal

    Papa Murphy’s Pizza is the best I have ever eaten and I have eaten a lot of pizza in my life!

  3. That’s funny. =) Good to know! You should be writing copy for them. =)

Leave a Reply

