Toys Making Kids Obese I Think Not!


New York Times
McDonalds

An article published in the New York Times stated that in Santa Clara, California, there is now a ban on promotional toys in kids’ meals because “they make them fat.” The county claims that kids choose the meal because of the toy that comes with it. Ken Yeager, the board president, said the new law would “level the playing field by taking away the incentive to choose fatty, sugary foods over healthier options.” Wait a minute! Shouldn’t we take away the incentive for parents to choose the fast food restaurant? This is where I get really confused. I don’t understand how a toy makes a kid obese. Well, let me restate that. . . I DO but it has nothing to do with the toy in the box. It has nothing to do with food in the box. It has nothing to do with the box. It has everything to do with the fact that the PARENTS are taking the kids to the fast food place every day of the week. The parents are choosing to allow their children to eat these meals. The PARENTS are the ones that are CHOOSING obesity for their kids.
These days, Happy Meals now come with changeable options. You can substitute milk or apple juice for soda and apples for fries.You can choose chicken nuggets instead of a hamburger/cheeseburger. Check out McDonalds Kids Choices.I am not saying that these meals are good for kids, but they’re better with the healthy options, and a special treat now and then is okay. Growing up, I loved a great happy meal or any fast food I could get my hands on. As I get older, all of this is catching up to me. But it has always been my choice, or, when I was a kid, my parents’ choice, as to where and what I would eat. Quit blaming the fast food industries for our obesity issues. We make a mental choice to eat where we eat and a mental choice to drink where we drink. If you’re worried your kids are overweight, here’s a thought. . . . Make them a salad! It’s cheaper to make than buying a happy meal, and a whole lot healthier. Tell your kids to get off the games and go outside and play something physical.

Great Kids Recipe Giving to me by a Friend!

Lite Summer Salad

2 Grilled Chicken Breasts, Sliced
1 Bag of Mixed Greens
1 C Raw Veggies (slivered carrots, celery, radish, peppers, tomato, whatever your family likes)
1 Small Can Mandarin Oranges (natural juice, drained)
1/2 Can of Garbanzo Beans (well rinsed and drained)
1/8 C Toasted Almonds
2 T Toasted Sunflower Seeds or Pine Nuts
2 T Dried Cherries

Light Lime Vinaigrette Dressing
1/4 C Fresh-Squeezed Lime Juice
1/2 t Lime Zest
2T Balsamic Vinegar
1T Dijon Mustard
1T Honey
1 T Fresh Finely Chopped Garlic
Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Serves 4

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Salads

Leave a Reply

