Green Beans French Fries


Here is another simple recipe that will help you get your kids to eat
their veggies. Well. . . green beans at least. As child and young
adult, I was not a big vegetable eater. I grew up on meat and
potatoes. Even then I was picky. Once I started cooking for more people than myself, I knew I had to branch out and explore vegetables. Although they are still not my favorite thing, I am beginning to appreciate them more and more. I am finding ways to take ordinary fresh or frozen veggies and transform them in to something anyone can enjoy. Although I admit that doing that sometimes takes a healthy vegetable and turns it into an unhealthy snack. I have played with recipes a few times and finally found the combination that works the best. Try these with your next hamburger.

Green Bean French Fries

Ingredients

1 Quart Vegetable Oil, for frying
1 Pound Fresh Green Beans
1 teaspoon Salt
1 teaspoon Onion Powder
1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
1 teaspoon Black Pepper
1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
½ teaspoon Cracked Black Pepper
2 cups All-Purpose Flour
2 Eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 Cups Panko Bread Crumbs

Directions

1. Heat oil in a deep-fryer or large saucepan to 350 degrees F (175
degrees C). Whisk together the flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder,
onion powder; set aside. Pour eggs, flour, and Panko breadcrumbs into individual shallow dishes (pie pans work great).

2. Cut and trim grean beans (keep the length of a typical French fry
in mind) about 2 ½ inches. Dip the green bean into the flour mixture.
Shake off any excess flour.

3. Dip the flour covered green beans into the egg wash and shake off
excess.
4. Finally, dip the green beans into the Panko bread crumbs (this is
the really messy part).
5. Fry in batches in the hot oil until the bread crumbs turn golden brown, about 4 minutes. Drain on a paper towel-lined plate, and serve hot.

You can eat these with a fork or dip them in any sauce you like. I
have also done these in a tempura batter as well but I like the texture of the Panko a lot better. Let me know what you think!

5 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Dinner, Sides

5 responses to “Green Beans French Fries

  1. Thanks for posting this!! YUM!

  2. Those look great! I have seen a few versions but have yet to try them. I might just have to try these:)

  3. These look so good, I can’t wait to try them.

Leave a Reply

