Double Inspired Empanadas


Double Inspired Empanadas

The other day, going through the different blogs I read, I came across
this wonderfully fun recipe called Cheeseburger Ebelskivers and Tomato Sauce on the Cleanliness is Next to Godliness blog.

The Ebelskivers name piqued my interest because I had never heard of
that before. I am glad I looked into the blog more deeply, because I
learned a lot. The first thing I learned is that edbelskivers are little round pancakes stuffed with jelly and such. I also found out that there is such a thing as an ebelskiver pan. Who knew? The featured recipe looked fun to make and tasty. Of course they were inspired by Chef Dennis of More Than A Mount Full blog. After reading about these wonderful ebelskivers, I set out to make something similar. Without the luxury of an ebelskiver pan, which, if you’re curious, can be found here: William Sonoma, I came to the next closest thing, empanadas.

Empanadas are biscuit filled with delights. Just like ebelskivers, you
can fill them with anything you choose, from the sweet (jellies, jams,
chocolate) to the savory (meats, cheeses, and veggies). Inspired by the above blogs, I set out to make cheeseburger empanadas, and this is how they turned out:

Cheeseburger Empanadas
Double Inspired Empanadas

Ingredients

Empanada
1 Cup Flour
1 Teaspoon Sugar
1/8 Teaspoon Cream of Tarter
½ Cup Milk
2½ Teaspoon Baking Powder
½ Teaspoon Salt
¼ Cup Shortening

Directions
1. Combine dry ingredients.
2. Cut in shortening.
3. Stir in milk.
4. Knead, pat, or roll to 1/2-inch thickness.
5. Cut, using a 2 1/2-inch biscuit cutter.

Filling
½ Pound Ground Beef
½ White Onion
2 Tablespoons Dijon Mustard
1½ Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
1½ Tablespoon Dry Italian Seasoning
½ Tomato, chopped
1 Egg, beaten
Shredded Cheese, to taste (half cup is what we used)

Directions
1. In a frying pan, brown ground beef(7 to 10 minutes), drain well.
2. Add onions and cook until opaque.
3. Add Dijon, Worcestershire, Italian seasoning, tomato, and cheese.
4. Stir well and slowly simmer.

To make the Stuffed Empanadas

Directions
1. Take one biscuit and roll flat until approximately double in circumference and about ¼-inch thick.
2. Beat egg in a bowl and set aside.
3. Fill flat biscuit with 1 tablespoon of filling
4. Dip a fork into the beaten egg and score one side of
the biscuit (half the circle).
5. Fold biscuit in half making a half moon shape cover the
filling use your fork again to seal the empanada by tamping down the edges.
6. Repeat for the rest of the biscuits.
7. Place filled biscuits on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 425 degrees for 10-12 minutes.
8. Use any leftover filling to garnish your empanadas. Enjoy!

Cook’s Note: These can also be quickly flash-fried for 4 minutes in 350-degree oil.

8 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Camping Recipes, Dinner, Quick Dinners

8 responses to “Double Inspired Empanadas

  1. Oh, yay!!!! I’m so glad I was able to inspire you! I’m quite honored.

    These empanadas are rockin’!

  2. I think we have crossed the international lines, with an ebelskivers inspired Empanada!! Thanks so much for the mention in your post!! and did I mention I love Empanada’s? Your look positively delicious! I do love them with all kinds of fillings!
    thanks for sharing!
    Dennis

  3. Rick

    Now I’m craving empanadas.

  4. They look like they would be delicious!

  5. These look quite tasty and of course versatile.

    I have been convinced for a long time that every culture has a dish with pretty much the same profile, tasty stuff wrapped in bread!

    Ebelskivers, Empanadas, Jamaican beef patties, Indian Samosa, meat/pot pies, Pierogi, Asian dumplings, Beef Wellington and the list goes on.

    I think we all recognize the genius in a new version of it we are introduced to because of our deep seated love of all the styles of it we have gleefully consumed previously.

    Jason

  6. I never had empanadas before but any recipe with “cheeseburger” in it sounds very promising to me 😀

Leave a Reply

